How we can free ourselves from a life of comparison and competition

Learning from the typology of Peter (Law) and John (Grace) in the scriptures

It occurred to me that Peter was the disciple who asked Jesus “what about John?”

And Jesus replied to Peter, saying that he should simply follow him and not worry about John.

I remember learning from a sermon that Peter means rock and typifies someone who focuses on obeying the law to be justified.

John means grace and typifies someone who believes in relying on God’s love for him.

I remind myself to emulate John and focus on resting and relying on the love of God or Universe, and not compare my path with other people’s paths.

I believe that I am called to follow my unique path.

I enjoy doing food delivery for example, and I don’t have to conform to society’s standard of so-called “success”.

How do you set yourself free from a life of comparison (and competition)?

Leave a comment