An interview with my alter ego about my first music album

Imagine an interview with my alter ego, DJimmytst, who composed my/his debut music album “Music and Dancing | Volume 1: Uncharted Territories“.

Me: How did your music creation journey begin?

DJ: I grew up as a teen in the 80s, where MTVs became popular. The American Top 40 weekly radio show became my staple diet. After getting my first portable music keyboard/synthesiser, I started experimenting with music composition, and the rest is history.

Me: Was your music album composed using a synth?

DJ: No, I used a music creation app. It’s like using a music sequencer, which takes skill and practice to weave the professional sound samples together into a coherent piece.

Me: What kind of music did you compose for the album?

DJ: It’s mostly a mix of dance, trap, hip hop, downtempo, inspirational, and experimental electronic music genres.

Me: Which musicians have inspired or influenced your music making endeavours?

DJ: I would say they are a diverse lot, such as Snap, Depeche Mode, Information Society, Pet Shop Boys, LL Cool J, Michael Jackson, Robert Miles, Enigma, Suzanne Ciani and so on.

Me: That’s cool. Could you give a specific example?

DJ: Sure. For example, Robert Miles intended his epic trance track “Children” to conclude a night’s set that would calm ravers prior to their driving home as a means to reduce car accident deaths. Similarly, I hope that my music can bring about an energetic fusion of euphoria and enlightenment.

Me: Woah, interesting.

DJ: Yes, I also hope to challenge the common misconception that dance and hip hop music is mostly about drugs, violence, profanity and promiscuity. Growing up as a nerd and social recluse, I find dance and hip hop music fascinating, but I hardly associate it with negative stereotypes. Dance and rap music can be spiritual and inspirational too. Interestingly, in the parable of the prodigal son, when the younger son returned home, he was warmly welcomed by the father, who threw a party for him with music and dancing.

Me: Music and dancing! Isn’t that the name of your music platform?

DJ: That’s right. I got my inspiration from that parable.

Me: Awesome. Any last words for our audience?

DJ: Yes, if you’ve got a dream, you can make it possible, regardless of your background. I believe today’s disruptive technologies can help us do many things that weren’t conceivable 10 or 20 years ago.

Me: Thank you, DJimmytst.

P.S. Do check out my debut music album here. 🎧

Leave a comment