From editor to delivery rider: Why they rhyme together so well in my careers


My thanks go to Foodpanda for the opportunity to be interviewed by a journalist from Mothership and share about my work, which enables me to pursue my passions in cycling, photography and nature conservation.

I hope that this well-written article about my interview inspires others to prioritise rest and self-care for their health’s sake (and thereby remains productive and creative at work), as well as creates awareness on environmental conservation.

“Taking these photos also help Tan further his passion for environmental conservation.

“[I take these photos] to see how much the landscape has changed, and use my photos for creating awareness to show how much urbanisation has encroached on the natural environment,” explained Tan.

…..

Tan also does freelance writing, editing and some editorial training.

He sometimes conducts online editorial workshops for aspiring writers.

Whenever he agrees to a freelance project, Tan can easily accommodate by choosing to do one delivery shift instead of two on certain days if need be.

On top of freelance writing and editing, Tan also does freelance photography, videography and digital music creation, and takes time to work on his YouTube channel that focuses on social and environmental issues.”

After the article was published online, I am very blessed to have received words of encouragement from my social and environmental circles, such as:

“👏 M happy & glad that you found your true north Jimmy ! ✨”

“Nothing like being able to do what you are so passionate about @⁨Jimmy Tan⁩ a wonderful article. Great exercise indeed, u r so fit”

“Great article Jimmy and super cool that you dared to pursue your true passion.”

“Dear Jimmy, how wonderful that you live your passion and inspire others to do so as well. Enjoyed reading about your journey. Thanks 🙏”

“Jimmy you are truly an inspiration to many of us! Thank you for sharing ur passion :)”

Leave a comment