Thanksgiving post: God is faithful

The sun was setting as I was doing my dinner shift delivering food to customers.

During my dinner shift today, I noted from Telegram that my company has offered bonus payouts for at least 4 completed orders and above between 5 pm and 9 pm as Hari Raya Puasa incentives.

After the clock ticked past 8 pm, I checked that I have completed only 3 orders so far.

“One more order, and I will earn an extra payout of $6,” I told myself.

I began cycling quickly towards the nearest hotspot in Toa Payoh central, hoping to receive a new order before my shift ended at 8.15 pm.

Along the way, I reminded myself to ride safely on the road – it’s not worth beating traffic lights and risking safety just for scraps.

I checked my clock again.

Five minutes past 8 pm. No orders so far.

I felt resigned to the possibility of finishing my shift with only 3 orders with no extra payout.

Reminding myself that only God can do the impossible, and not by my own strength, I prayed softly in the spirit.

The phone sounded a notification of a new order for food delivery around 8.06 pm, just when I was reaching the hotspot.

God is good and faithful.

Happily, I went to collect the 4th order at the vendor and delivered it to the customer at the end of my dinner shift.

An extra payout of $6 may not be much, but it is still worth something – perhaps like the five loaves and two fishes for a small boy’s lunch.

What man cannot do, God can.

“He was fully convinced that God is able to do whatever he promises.” (Romans 4:21)

After finishing my shift, I discovered I left a carrier bag in my delivery bag, which contains a drink and dessert that I forgot to pass to the second last customer.

Fortunately, I could remember the block number and unit number, though I couldn’t recall the floor number.

I decided to make my way to the highest floor of the block and walked down the stairs and checked the doors of the units to see if I could recognise it.

Thankfully, I eventually found the right door and passed the items to the customer.

All’s well that ends well.

Leave a comment